Ethiopia’s PM Hailemariam Desalegn forms his new government; parliament approves all candidates

Ethiopia’s Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn, who was reelected as yesterday, formed the new government this morning with full endorsement by the national parliament of his ministerial candidates. The House of People’s Representatives (HPR) has approved the appointments of 23 ministers and four senior positions with ministerial portfolio.

Accordingly, the House endorsed the PM’s nomination of Demeke Mekonnen, as well as Dr. Debretsion Gebremichael, Minister of Information Communication Technology and Aster Mamo, Minister of Civil Service, as Deputy Prime Ministers; the latter two are in charge of separate clusters.

Below is the list of the new ministers:

1 – Siraj Fegesa -Defense Minister
2 – Dr. Tedros Adhanom –Minister of Foreign Affairs
3 – Kassa Tekleberhan – Minister of Federal Affairs and Pastoral Area Development Minister
4 – Getachew Ambaye- Minister of Juctice
5 – Abdulazi Mohammed – Minister of Finance and Economic Cooperation
6- Tefera Deribew- Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resource Development
7- Sileshi Getahun- Minister of Animal and Fish Resources
8- Ahmed Abitew, Minister of Industry
9- Yacob Yala- Minister of Trade
10- Abiy Ahmed- Minister of Science and Technology
11 – Workneh Gebeyehu – Minister of Transport
12 – Mekuria Haile- Urban development and Housing
13 – Dr Ambachew Mekonnen- Minister of Construction
14 – Motuma Mekasa- Minister of Water, Irrigation and Electricity
15- Shiferaw Shigute- Minister of Education
16 – Tolosa Shagi- Minister of Mines, Petroleum and Natural Gas
17 – Dr Keseteberhan Admasu- Minister of Health
18 – Abdulfetah Abdulahi- Minister of Labor and Social Affairs
19 – Engineer Aisha Mohammed- Minister of Culture andTourism
20 – Zenebu Tadesse- Minister of Women and Children
21 – Dr Shiferaw Teklemariam – Minister of Environment, Forest Development and Climate Chnage
22 – Redwan Hussien- Minister of Youth and Sport
23 – Demitu Hambisa- Minister of Public Enterprises


The four senior positions with ministerial portfolio include Beker Shale, Director General of Ethiopian Revenues Authority; Getachew Reda, Government Communications Affairs Office Head; as well as Asmelash Woldesilase and Dr Yineger Dessie as Chief Government Whip and Commissioner of National Plan respectively.


Photo: PM Hailemariam Desalegn

Addis Standard/Archive

No comments


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *