HomeArticles Posted by addisstandard (Page 783)

Author: addisstandard

The two people who have reportedly been killed by a bomb blast that went off at a residence in Bole district here in the Capital Addis Ababa, on Sunday Oct. 13th at about 3PM local time, are reported to be of Somali nationals. “The ones who died were of Somali origin,” Redwan Hussein, Head of the Government Communication Affairs office  told AFP.

However, Ambassador Dina Mufti, spokesperson of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs on his part said the police were “carrying out the investigations,” and that nothing was known so far. “We are waiting for the investigation reports from the police,” he told Addis Standard by a phone this afternoon.

The incident happened in a neighborhood known as Bole Michael, not far from the Addis Ababa Bole International Airport. The area is home to thousands of Somali refugees who came during the past two decades of civil war in their country.

The summit demanded immunity for serving heads of state and governments 


In a two day extraordinary session of the African heads of states and governments held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia on 11 -12 of Oct. to discuss the continent’s relation with the International Criminal Court (ICC) African leaders have passed a resolution against mass withdrawal, as was largely rumored, but adopted series of stern demands including a demand for a no trial by the ICC of any serving African head of state and government, and a request to the UN Security Council of deferral of the trial of Kenyan officials by the ICC.

Ethiopia’s Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn said in his closing remarks that the leaders of Africa have “adopted our decision speaking with one voice and sending a strong political message on Africa’s relationship with the ICC.”

Accordingly, the extraordinary summit agreed that “no charges shall be commenced or continued before any international court or tribunal against any serving Head of States of Government or anybody acting or entitled to act inn such capacity during his/her term of office.”